

# Faculty Senate Emergency Meeting Minutes

November 17, 2021 - 3:00 p.m.

Reitz Union Chamber

https://mediasite.video.ufl.edu/Mediasite/Play/e45d91ab69f84bf184946eae62aafcbb1d?catalog=8456cbab10b449868436ee51ddb84dc421

#### Call to order

### David C. Bloom, Chair

- The meeting was called to order at 3:02 p.m. by Faculty Senate Chair David C. Bloom.

## Reports

### • Chair's Report

### David C. Bloom, Chair

- Chair Bloom spoke to why this special session of the Faculty Senate has been called. A critical need has arisen to address issues of academic freedom at the University of Florida, specifically considering recent events in which faculty were denied an opportunity to serve as expert witnesses. While it is appreciated that this was later overturned by the administration, the ability to perform outside consulting is a central part of scholarship and denial to perform such activities strikes at the heart of academic freedom. Because this matter falls squarely in the purview of Faculty Senate as part of UF's shared governance, Chair Bloom called this special meeting ahead of tomorrow's regularly scheduled November Faculty Senate meeting to provide ample opportunity to discuss this urgent matter.

- Chair Bloom presented <u>slides</u> which outlined actions being taken by Faculty Senate.

- The <u>University of Florida Constitution</u> Article III, Section 2 that defines academic freedom was reviewed.

- There are currently three Faculty Senate Ad Hoc committees working on issues of shared governance.

 Faculty are asked to submit any information related to academic freedom violations to the Faculty Senate Ad Hoc Committee on Academic Freedom.

- The administration has appointed a Presidential task force to look into issues of academic freedom and UF conflict of interest review practices pertaining to outside activities specifically involving service as an expert witness. Provost Glover provided an update and expects task force recommendations will be presented to President Fuchs next week. He also discussed administrative efforts to review the underlying processes by which an evaluation of conflicts of interest and/or outside activities takes place, improving the transparency of the process, increasing faculty participation in the assessment process, and establishing an appeal procedure.

## **Information Items:**

### Academic Freedom Resolutions

David C. Bloom, Chair Sarah Lynne, Welfare Council Chair

- Welfare Council Resolution

- Advisory Council of Faculty Senates (ACFS) Academic Freedom Resolution

- This resolution is in support of the Advisory Council of Faculty Senates (ACFS) Academic Freedom

<u>Resolution</u> which was passed unanimously by its twelve State University System (SUS) Faculty Senate Chairs members more than a week ago. Five of the SUS Faculty Senates have also individually passed a resolution in support of this one to date.

- A motion to move the Information Item to an Action Item passed.

- Discussion was held and a motion to approve the resolution carried unanimously.

- Welfare Council Chair Sarah Lynne provided a timeline and overview of the Welfare Council

<u>Resolution</u>, which outlines specific goals to protect and engage faculty in issues related to academic freedom.

- A motion to move the Information Item to an Action Item passed.

- Discussion points included faculty support for a strong statement to acknowledge and defend

academic freedom as a cornerstone of faculty research and scholarship.

- The resolution was amended.

- Following discussion, a motion to pass the amended resolution carried.

## **Open Discussion from Senate Floor -** *Three-minute limit per speaker.*

## 1) University of Florida Faculty Senators

- There was no discussion from UF Faculty Senators.

2) University of Florida Faculty

- Professor Zachary Hamaker (CLAS) asked that it be considered if a separate, university conflict of interest office should exist at UF as it appears one does not exist at other Florida and peer universities.

- Professor Mark Hostetler (AG) urged support for the <u>COVID no confidence resolution</u> being voted on in tomorrow's Faculty Senate meeting, specifically if Senators feel that there was outside influence on the university's COVID policy.

## Adjournment

- The meeting adjourned at 3:55 p.m.

Attending Senators Luis Alvarez-Castro Theresa Antes Lisa Anthony Angela Bacsik Donald Behringer Lauren Berkow Mario Binelli Helene Blondeau Stephanie Bogart Wesley Bolch Eleni Bozia Brent Broaddus Nico Cellinese Konstantina Christodoulopoulou Maddy Coy Cynda Crawford Megan Daly Santanu K. Datta Michael K. Davis Sara Moscovita Falzarano Yuguang (Michael) Fang Jamie Foster Klibs Galvao Breann Garbas Kristina Garcia-Guettler Jamie Garner Malay Ghosh

Reetu Grewal Liwei Gu Selman Hershfield Dennis Hiltunen Amie Hoefnagel Helene Huet Lisa King John Kraft Jaclyn Kropp Jose Lemos Lora Levett Maureen Long Sarah Lynne Lucas Majure Diba Mani Crystal Marull Tara Mathien Victoria Menzies **Carey Minteer** Timothy M. Murtha Christine T. Myers Walter O'Dell Madan Oli Jorg Peters **Ariel Pomputius** Mary Risner Lorenzo Rossi Richard Scholtz Karla Shelnutt Matthew C. Smith

Peter Sprowls Ruth Steiner Jessica-Jean Stonecipher Catherine Striley Andres Susaeta Saundra TenBroeck David Therriault Stephanie Toelle Apichai Tuanyok Hannah Vander Zanden Shawn Weatherford Houston A. Wells Trent Williams, Jr. Gene Witmer Sarah Wolking

Liaisons Jonathan Edelmann Joe Glover Taylor Rose

Student Senators Hope Lerman

Guests Wayne Archer Sarah Brunning Carlos de la Torre Mark Hostetler